The MTG Nomination Committee’s proposal regarding election of the Board

April 16 2015

In advance of the Modern Times Group MTG AB (publ) (“MTG”) Annual General Meeting to be held on Tuesday 19 May 2015, the MTG Nomination Committee, comprising representatives of the largest shareholders in MTG, proposes the re-election of Board members David Chance, Simon Duffy, Michelle Guthrie, Alexander Izosimov and Mia Brunell Livfors, and the election of Joakim Andersson and Bart Swanson as new Board members. The Nomination Committee also proposes the re-election of David Chance as Chairman of the Board. Blake Chandlee and Lorenzo Grabau have declined re-election.

Joakim Andersson was appointed Chief Financial Officer of Investment AB Kinnevik, MTG’s large reference shareholder, in February 2015. Joakim joined the Kinnevik Group in 2001 at Banque Invik, and became Group Treasurer of Kinnevik in 2007. As Group Treasurer, Joakim supported Kinnevik’s investee companies in managing capital markets, financing and corporate financial management, and was responsible for Kinnevik’s cash and liquidity management as well as its treasury operations and controls.

Bart Swanson is currently an advisor at Horizons Ventures, a venture capital firm based in Hong Kong with a focus on disruptive and technology-focused start-ups, including Summly where Bart was Chairman of the Board from 2012 up until 2013 when the company was acquired by Yahoo. During 2010 and 2011 Bart was Chief Operating Officer of Badoo, one of the largest Internet social dating sites, prior to which Bart spent three years as Managing Director at GSI Commerce International (later eBay Enterprise). Before joining GSI Commerce International, Bart was a General Manager at Amazon, where he was one of the key executives in establishing and expanding’s footprint in Germany, France and the United Kingdom.

“The election of Joakim Andersson and Bart Swanson to the Board of MTG will further strengthen the Board’s capabilities in the areas of capital allocation and evaluation of new digital investments. Joakim will replace Lorenzo Grabau as Kinnevik’s representative on the Board.”

“On behalf of the Nomination Committee I would like to extend our thanks and appreciation to Lorenzo Grabau and Blake Chandlee for their contribution to the development of MTG over the last years.”

Cristina Stenbeck, Chairman of the Nomination Committee

The Nomination Committee comprises Cristina Stenbeck appointed by Investment AB Kinnevik; Marianne Nilsson appointed by Swedbank Robur Funds; and Erik Durhan appointed by Nordea Funds. The members of the Nomination Committee have been appointed by shareholders that jointly represent approximately 55 percent of the votes in MTG.

We use cookies to analyse our traffic and render this website more user friendly.